HISTORICAL MILESTONES OF GLOBALIZATION

to the 500th anniversary

from the day the expedition began F. Magellan

 

September 20, 1519 began the first round-the-world journey in the history of mankind. Magellan, appointed as the head of the expedition, sailed on 5 vessels from the Spanish port of Sanlúcar de Barrameda.

 

According to the documents, there should have been 235 people in the expedition, in fact there were at least 280. In addition to the Spaniards, the Portuguese, Flemings, French, Italians, Germans and English set sail. The difficulties of the unique expedition are indicated, at least, by the fact that in March 1520 the flotilla entered the bay of San Julian (Argentina), where a rebellion broke out on two ships on the night of April 2. The rebels captured the largest ship of the expedition "St. Anthony." Magellan put down a riot, quartered two rebel captains, hanged six sailors, left two of the organizers ashore, and the rest 40 rebels sentenced to death, had mercy. Among the pardoned was H.S. El Cano, who was destined to return to Spain.

On August 24, 1520, after a winter in the San Julian Bay, which lasted more than 4 months, Magellan moved further south and opened the entrance to the strait (later named after him), exploring it, discovering the Tierra del Fuego archipelago south. By that time, the ship "St. Jacob", being in reconnaissance, was dead. The ship "St. Anthony" turned back and six months later returned to Spain.

Magellan died in a clash with the locals of the Philippine island of Mactan on April 27, 1521. Of the Magellan flotilla, only the Victoria ship under the command of El Cano completed on September 7, 1522 the first circumnavigation in the history of mankind. The world's first circumnavigation lasted almost three years - 1081 days. Of the five ships of the squadron of Magellan, only one returned with 18 crew members. A little later, another 13 people left on the Cape Verde Islands returned to Seville. A year later, four people from Trinidad reached Spain. The sale of spices delivered by Victoria more than paid for all the costs of the expedition.

As a result of the expedition of Magellan, the sphericity of the Earth and the presence of a single World Ocean were experimentally proved. For the first time, the American continent was bypassed from the south, and the Pacific Ocean was crossed. Unfortunately, in Europe there are no monuments to Magellan. The Strait is named after Magellan, the Big and Small Magellanic clouds are the two galaxies closest to us, visible to the naked eye.

PS. This note is based on the materials of the encyclopedic reference book “Global studies. Personalities, organizations, publications ”(Ch. Ed. And comp. I.V. Ilyin, I.I. Mazur, A.N. Chumakov. - M.: Alpha-M.). The encyclopedic reference book "Global Studies" was published twice: in 2012 and 2016.

The author of the articles of the encyclopedic reference book “Magellan Fernan” and “El Cano Juan Sebastian”, Ph.D., Assoc. HELL. Korolev.

purepngcom-earth-pla_edited.png

©2019 by Глобалистика.

ИСТОРИЧЕСКИЕ ВЕХИ ГЛОБАЛИЗАЦИИ

к 500-летию

со дня начала экспедиции Ф. Магеллана

 

20 сентября 1519 года началось первое в истории человечества кругосветное путешествие. Назначенный начальником экспедиции Магеллан вышел на 5 судах из испанского порта Санлукар-де-Баррамеда. По документам в экспедиции должно было быть 235 человек, на самом деле было не менее 280. Кроме испанцев в плавание отправились португальцы, фламандцы, французы, итальянцы, немцы и англичане. О трудностях уникальной экспедиции говорит хотя бы такой факт, что в марте 1520 г. флотилия вошла в бухту Сан-Хулиан (Аргентина), где в ночь на 2 апреля на двух кораблях вспыхнул мятеж. Мятежники захватили самый крупный корабль экспедиции «Святой Антоний». Магеллан подавил бунт, четвертовал двух мятежных капитанов, повесил шесть моряков, двоих организаторов оставил на берегу, остальных 40 мятежников, приговорённых к смертной казни, помиловал. Среди помилованных был Х.С. Эль-Кано, которому суждено было вернуться в Испанию.

24 августа 1520 г. после зимовки в бухте Сан-Хулиан, которая длилась 4 с лишнем месяца, Магеллан двинулся дальше на юг и открыл вход в пролив (позднее получивший его имя), исследовал его, обнаружив к югу архипелаг Огненная Земля. К тому времени корабль «Святой Яков», находясь в разведке, погиб. Корабль «Святой Антоний» повернул назад и через полгода вернулся в Испанию.

Магеллан погиб в стычке с местными жителями филиппинского острова Мактан 27 апреля 1521 года. Из флотилии Магеллана только корабль «Виктория» под командой Эль-Кано завершил 7 сентября 1522 г. первое в истории человечества кругосветное плавание. Первое в мире кругосветное плавание длилось почти три года – 1081 день. Из пяти кораблей эскадры Магеллана возвратился только один с 18 членами экипажа. Немного времени спустя в Севилью вернулось ещё 13 человек, оставленных на островах Зелёного Мыса. Через год до Испании добрались четыре человека с «Тринидада». Продажа пряностей, доставленных «Викторией», с лихвой окупила все расходы на экспедицию.

В результате экспедиции Магеллана опытным путём были доказаны шарообразность Земли и наличие единого Мирового океана. Впервые Американский континент был обойдён с юга, а Тихий океан был пересечён. К большому сожалению, в Европе нет монументов Магеллану. Именем Магеллана названы пролив, Большое и Малое Магеллановы облака – две ближайшие к нам галактики, видные невооружённым глазом.

PS. Данная заметка написана по материалам энциклопедического справочника «Глобалистика. Персоналии, организации, издания» (гл. ред. и сост. И.В. Ильин, И.И. Мазур, А.Н. Чумаков. – М.: Альфа-М.). Энциклопедический справочник «Глобалистика» выходил дважды: в 2012 и 2016 гг.

Автор статей энциклопедического справочника «Магеллан Фернан» и «Эль-Кано Хуан Себастьян», к.ф.н., доц. А.Д. Королёв.